Crossroads News
Sun, Feb. 17, 2013 - [Women's Basketball]

Hartford City, IN – The 2012-13 Women's Basketball All-Crossroads League selections have been released. First, Second, Honorable Mention, and Freshman All-Crossroads League teams are voted upon by league head coaches after the end of regular season to recognize the top student-athletes over the past season. After receiving the most total votes, Laura Johnson, of Bethel College, has been named the 2012-13 Crossroads League Women's Basketball Player of the Year.


Laura Johnson helped the Pilots to a 14-4 league record this season, leading the team in scoring with 284 total points in league play. In her senior season Johnson currently ranks 3rd in NAIA DII women's basketball in 3 pt FG made(91), 6th  in 3pt's per game(3.138),  6th in free throw percentage(.873), 8th in total scoring (551), 9th in points per game(19), 18th in total steals (79), 20th in 3pt FG percentage (3.92), and 23rd in steals per game (2.724). Johnson and the Pilots are seeded #3 in the Crossroads League Tournament, and will look to claim the Crossroads League Tournament Championship and continue their postseason play with a bid to the NAIA National Championships.

Brooke Ridley, freshman forward at Saint Francis, has been named the 2012-13 Freshman of the Year following a stellar start to her college career. Ridley lead the league in blocks, posting 82 and averaging 2.73 per game for the 2012-13 season. The 5-10 freshman also let the Cougars in blocks and rebounds, tallying 53 blocks, and 108 rebounds in league play.

In his 12th season at the helm of the University of Saint Francis' women's basketball program head coach Gary Andrews has been selected as the 2012-13 Crossroads League Coach of the Year. Andrew's led the Cougars to a 16-2 league record and a Regular Season Co-Champion crown in the 2012-13 season.  After improving on their 10-8 league record from last season, Andrews and his team enter the Crossroads League tournament as the #2 seed. An overall record of 27-3 this season has made the Cougars a fixture in the NAIA top 25 poll, currently ranked 5th in the latest national ranking.

The 2012-13 All-Crossroads League honorees are listed below, congratulations to all student-athletes recognized!

All-Crossroads League First Team

Laura Johnson (Sr.) – Bethel

Paige Smith (Sr.) – Indiana Wesleyan

Juaneice Jackson (Jr.) – Grace

Kayla Drake (Sr.) – Saint Francis

Erin Guarneri (Sr.) – Taylor


All-Crossroads League Second Team

Claire Ray (Sr.) - Indiana Wesleyan

Sarah Miller-Jennings (Sr.) – Huntington

Skylarr Shurn (Jr.) – Saint Francis

Rachel Turk (Sr.) – Marian

Erika Redweik (Sr.) – Taylor


All-Crossroads League Honorable Mention

Georgia Boisse (Sr.) – Bethel

Pazia Speed (Jr.) – Huntington

Meghan Slusher (Sr.) – Saint Francis

Allie Kauffman (So.) – Grace

Taylor Goshert (Jr.) – Indiana Wesleyan


Crossroads League All-Freshmen Team

Brooke Ridley – Saint Francis

Lakan Hasser-Smith – Marian

Carlie Newman – Spring Arbor

Amelia Recker – Huntington

Jo'Mani Thomas – Goshen


2012-13 Women's Basketball All-Crossroads League